If you love something...
03.31.05.12:25 pm

The Rabbit Hole
03.12.05.12:43 am

Crucify
02.20.05.10:30 pm

Who the hell are you?
02.10.05.2:49 pm

99 problems
02.02.05.6:44 pm


<<< :: >>>

God Bless America, Indeed.
September 14, 2001 12:18 a.m.

I can't imagine why in the world anyone would ever want to be the president of the U.S.

Imagine the responsibility of that.

I can't even really fathom it.

To already be under the critical eye of everyone, and to then have to figure out what to do when your country, the country YOU are the leader of, has been attacked by terrorists.

I hope he does the right thing. Whatever the hell that may be, because I don't even pretend to have a clue.

I don't even pretend to grasp the absolute seriousness or implications of the situation.

What I do know for certain is this: no matter how President Bush handles the situation, no matter who did this, no matter what country they have come from, what their reasons are for committing such a terrible act of hate, no matter how they have been wronged, they will have to answer for what they have done by someone with more power and insight than any leader or any other human being. And so will president Bush and the other leaders of this country have to answer for their reaction.

I will also say this for certain: I realize that this country is not perfect. There are a lot of things about this country and the values of the people in it that absolutely make me sick to my stomach. There are things that go on EVERY DAY in this country that are completely legal that bring tears to my eyes. There are times when I wish I didn't live here. However I am immensely thankful that I do live in this country. I am thankful for all the people who gave their lives so that I could have the freedoms that I take for granted every day. I am thankful for all the PETTY problems I have in my insanely luxurious and easy life when there are people in other countries who are forced to kill their own children by their government, who will be killed themselves just for practicing their religion. I am thankful that I don't live in a country where young children work all day long in factories and get NOTHING in return but missing limbs. I am thankful that I live in a country that CAN to some extent protect itself. I am thankful that I live in a country where terrorist attacks are rare, and war is not reality of my everyday life. Today I AM proud to be an American. I am proud of the president of America. I am proud of all the people who this has affected. I am proud of all the people doing what they can to help. I am proud that we make cheesy remixes of songs with news footages, proud that we put patriotic messages on our storefronts and proud that we can put our political and racial differences aside to support each other and the victims and to stand up for our country and what we believe in, and I think and hope that common belief is freedom.