If you love something...
03.31.05.12:25 pm

The Rabbit Hole
03.12.05.12:43 am

Crucify
02.20.05.10:30 pm

Who the hell are you?
02.10.05.2:49 pm

99 problems
02.02.05.6:44 pm


<<< :: >>>

Music for thought
2001-08-08 10:09 p.m.

You say "many of the musical snobs i have met to date dont really understand what "good" "music" is".

Doesn't that make you a musical snob?

Are you saying that because you don't like a certain style or artist, then the tastes of a 'musical snob' who likes that style or artist are invalid?

I totally agree with what you are saying, it's just that good music is defined differently by everyone, and how can anyone's opinions be invalid, really?

I mean, maybe they might like something better if they are exposed to it, but maybe not, doesn't mean their tastes are invalid.

People are always trying to make rules about the validity of different styles of music. It's such a waste of time.

Make the music you wanna make.

Listen to the music you wanna listen to.

Listen and let listen.

There's been a million times where people have tried to convince me not to like certain music I like. Why? I don't know.

If someone were to try and convince me to stop liking chocolate I would laugh in their face "What difference does it make if I like chocolate? I'm not making you eat it."

I used to be the same way. And frankly it's freaking rude. I used to be like "Why do you listen to the Backstreet Boys? They're don't fit my definition of valid music." It's so petty.

What do you really expect them to say?

"You know, you're right. I guess I really don't like the Backstreet Boys. Thanks for helping me realize that."

It's like there's something ingrained in the minds of all twenty-somethings.

"MUST CONVERT EVERYONE TO MY LISTENING STYLES."

And then I got over myself.

I guess I've just gotten to a point where I can say. "Well, I don't like xyz music, but that doesn't mean xyz are not talented. And I don't feel threatened if someone else listens to xyz."

I totally know what you mean about people liking music, but not listening to it because of the 'image' it may portray.

So you know, just thought I'd take part in this discussion you had with yourself.